Being Genuine

index

I think a big pet peeve of mine as I get older is people who pretend to be someone they are not. This can come in many facets, such as pretending to care about others, pretending you do more than you actually do, pretending you are healthier that you really are….and the list goes on and on.

I try not to trouble myself these days with those who can not be genuine with themselves or with others. I don’t judge them, I just choose not to associate with them. I have learned that if we can not acknowledge who and what we really are, then we have no room for true growth as a person nor do we have the capacity to truly have compassion for others. Therefore, as a mother and a role model to this little person I raise each day, I instead choose to let others live their lives the way they want, and I try and walk a different road. A road where I know I will make mistakes, and a road in which I can always better myself as a wife and mother. Knowing who I really am allows me to strive to always be better, to be wiser, to be kinder, and to teach my daughter that no one is perfect, but that we should never stop trying to be the best person we can be.

“Always be a first rate version of yourself instead of a second rate version of somebody else”. ~Unknown

Kindly,
thetreehouseproject.org
one4one

This entry was posted in inspiration, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Being Genuine

  1. Pingback: Shine On Award | My Life Experiences by Melissa

Leave a Reply

